Books!!! · class

A Book Review! Yay!

I LOVE books. I mean really love them. And I love that I get to share a few opinions with you guys. With that being said, I’m going to tell you a little about one of my favorite book series ever – The Selection Series by Kiera Cass.

Wow what a series! The first book begins several hundred years into the future. Earth is way different than we know it now. Where America was is now called Illea and there is a caste system!

The system works like this: One’s are the royals; Two’s are the athletes, singers, celebrities, politicians, guards, firemen, and so on; Three’s are inventors, teachers, doctors, writers, architects, lawyers, philosophers, film directors and several more; Four’s are businessmen, construction managers, farmers, jewelers, real estate agents, head chefs and insurance brokers; Five’s are artists, stage actors/dancers, and circus performers; Six’s are secretaries, waiters, housekeepers, cooks and drivers; Seven’s are gardeners, construction workers, farm hands, pool cleaners, and trash collectors/ditch diggers; Eight’s are the untouchables- runaways, mentally ill/unstable, and homeless.

The story begins with a girl named America- a Five- who is madly in love with Aspen- a Six. Their normal (totally secret and not normal)love life is just starting to kick off when the Royals announce that they are having a ‘Selection’ for their son, Prince Maxon. What happens is a lot like the Bachelor, but for a prince. 35 girls from all over Illea are chosen from an application and picture, and are then sent off to live in the castle. Being in the future, it is on live TV and like the Bachelor, girls do get voted off until Maxon chooses his queen.

Girls over a certain age are eligible to apply and if they are chosen they will be paid for their presence each week. Being in one of the lower castes, America’s mother insists she applies along with thousands of other girls in Illea to help provide for their family.

America applies thinking she would never get chosen, but of course, she does and the journey of love, heartbreak, and suspense begins!

A fascinating story altogether, it’s one of the most intriguing books I’ve read that sweeps you right off your feet! There are 4 books in the series right now, with the last one coming out May 3, 2016.

the selection

Some links of information on where to find The Selection and find more out about Kiera Cass are below!

Barnes and Noble

Kiera Cass



One thought on “A Book Review! Yay!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s